How to Define Love

Over the last two decades, the scientific study of human emotion has increased. A color-wheel theory of love suggests that there are three primary styles of love, three secondary styles, and nine tertiary types. Researchers have also identified three components of love – intimacy, passion, and commitment. There are also several spiritual and religious aspects to love, which make its definition more complicated than one might think. There is no one definition of love, and the search for an accurate one will continue.

Physical touch is the third love language

Physical touch can be an essential part of a relationship, and can be either the primary or secondary love language. It can be a romantic touch, depending on who’s doing the touching. Romantic touch is meant to deepen or even arouse the emotional connection between the two people. On the other hand, platonic touch may simply involve holding hands or handing over a handkerchief. Either way, physical touch can express a lot of feelings to the recipient.

Gifts are a tangible reminder that you thought of them

Whether you give a romantic gift or a practical one, gifts are a great way to show your love. The best gifts are non-returnable, so they are a great way to express your affection. However, you must be careful when choosing the right gift. The wrong gift may send the opposite message. Love is a very vulnerable emotion that can wound or heal. People who love through gifts are vulnerable to being hurt by gifts.

Commitment is the fourth love language

In 1992, psychologist Gary Chapman wrote a book called The Five Love Languages that outlines five specific ways to express love to your partner. Those who love physically touch, giving and receiving gifts, and verbal expressions of affection are likely to speak the same language. The theory suggests that each person has their own unique love language. For example, your spouse may respond best to verbal expressions of affection such as verbal affirmations, physical touch, and acts of service.

Self-love can cause inner struggle

When self-love becomes an issue, it may be indicative of a more serious problem. Depending on the cause of the problem, it can range from a simple lack of self-esteem to an experience as traumatic as abuse during childhood. In such cases, a professional counselor or therapist can help. These professionals are trained to deal with emotional issues in individuals. For a deeper understanding of self-love, it’s helpful to seek the help of a therapist or counselor.

Embracing the other person for who they are

Embracing is a powerful expression of human intimacy, one of the most essential needs of human beings. Hugs are among the most beautiful forms of intimacy, and there are a wide range of benefits associated with an embrace. Embracing another person for who they are has a wide range of psychological and physiological effects. Learn more about the power of embracing others and how you can embrace someone in return.

Growing out of love over time

When a relationship reaches a point where the two people no longer see each other the same way, you may be falling out of love. When your partner isn’t in the mood, you find reasons to avoid spending time together. Time seems to drag on forever. Even if you try to keep in touch with your partner, you may find yourself avoiding him or her altogether. You may even begin to ignore each other and spend time with your friends and family. It seems like a never-ending cycle that leaves you feeling tired, depressed, and indifferent. Fortunately, you can save your relationship by changing your priorities.